Meningitis strikes approximately 3,000
Americans annually, including 100-125 on college campuses,
leading to 5-15 deaths among college students every year.
Texas Senate Bill 1107 requires new,
transfer, and returning students who have had a fall
or spring semester break in attendance to provide proof of
having received a bacterial meningitis vaccination within
the five-year period preceding, and at least 10 days prior
to the first day of the first semester in which the student
initially enrolls at an institution.
To submit all required documentation please
download and follow the instructions on the following forms:
All current students are exempt from the new
law, but are strongly encouraged to speak to a health care
provider about meningitis and the vaccine because 19-24 is a
high-risk age group.
Students solely enrolled
in online, distance education, or extended education courses
are exempt. All students 30 and over are exempt.
To learn more about meningitis:
Students have the ability to claim an
exemption. There are two different categories when filing
for an exception for conscience reasons:
Students NOT Living
For new students (age
18 years or older) NOT living in
on-campus housing, who wish to file an affidavit
stating that the student declines the
vaccination for bacterial meningitis for reasons
of conscience, the student may use the official
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board's
form. The student must print the form, have it
notarized, and submit the following form to the
TCU Health Center.
Conscientious Objection Form
Students Living ON Campus OR
Under *18 Years Old:
For new students living in
on-campus housing, which includes student
housing facilities located on the campus, such
as dormitories, sorority and fraternity houses,
privately owned residence halls, and apartments,
the student must use the official Texas
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) form.
This form can be ordered online through the DSHS.
It is then mailed from DSHS to the student and
it may take up to two weeks to receive the form.
The form must be notarized and submitted to the
TCU Health Center. To order the exemption form
from DSHS visit the following link:
Official Texas Exemption Form
*This form must be
used by students under the age of 18, regardless
of whether they are living on or off campus.*